Chicken · chili powder · chilli · cilantro · coconut oil · cooking oil · coriander · coriander leaves · curry leaves · dairy free · fennel seed · fenugreek · garam masala · garlic · ginger · gluten free · main course · masala · medium · non vegetarian · onion · pepper · salt · seed · shallot · south indian · Uncategorized

Kozhi Mulakittathu – Kerala Chicken Curry with Chili

It may seem to you that someone has given me kai vesham in chicken, given the number of chicken posts I have here. In my defense, I have a dinner of pureed vegetables every weeknight. ( Pureed vegetables make my new crash diet plan. I have tried everything from the popular GM diet to starving myself, none of which has worked, but I won’t loose hope). As you can imagine, this is a dinner that most people like to keep away from. In fact, my parents refuse to even sample the “soup”; when I offered to share, they had an expression of shock that would have looked appropriate on Satan confronted with a Crucifix.

Anyway, my point is, after all the boiled carrot and cabbage (that my parents find revolting), I need that lovely drumstick in hand to keep me alive. After subjecting myself to five days of torture, I need to indulge in my fried and curried feathery friends. It may be akin to ordering Diet Coke alongside a double burger and extra large fries, but it somehow makes me feel less guilty. So my dear vegetarian friends, in the rare possibility that you are reading this, do forgive me for another chicken recipe. Non vegetarians, I know you are loving this!

Kozhi Mulakittathu roughly translates to Chicken with Chili. Quite a misleading name, because unlike most chicken curries from Kerala because this one is not a very hot curry. It has a lot of onions and coriander in it, and perhaps that makes it slightly sweet. Splatter your rice with some of that red sauce and you will thank me for one delicious meal.

  • Servings: 4-serving
  • Difficulty: medium
  • Print

Summary

  • Cuisine: south indian
  • Course: main course
  • Cooking Time: 40 mins

Ingredients

1 kg Chicken – skinned and cut into pieces ,
8 tablespoons oil , preferably coconut oil
4 onions , sliced thin and long
1 tablespoon ginger and garlic , each
6 green chilies , sliced
3 tablespoons red chili powder
3 tablespoons coriander powder
1/2 teaspoon garam masala powder
1/2 teaspoon pepper powder
1/2 teaspoon fenugreek seeds , crushed lightly
1 teaspoon fennel seeds , crushed lightly
8 shallots , sliced
To taste, salt
handfull chopped coriander leaves
10 chopped curry leaves

Steps

  1. Crush ginger and garlic using mortar and pestle. Heat oil in a large pot or pan. Fry onions, ginger, garlic and chilies on medium flame till onions start to brown slightly. This should take a little above 12 minutes.
  2. To the onions, add chili powder, coriander powder, garam masala, pepper powder, fenugreek seeds, fennel seeds and shallots and saute for a couple of minutes on low flame. Add a splash of water and cover and cook for two more minutes. Add chicken and salt and mix well. Cover and cook till chicken is done. If you find the sauce to be too runny, boil over high heat without the lid on to thicken it. Adjust seasoning.
  3. Sprinkle over chopped coriander and curry leaves and mix through. Serve hot with plain rice, ghee rice or flat bread.

14 thoughts on “Kozhi Mulakittathu – Kerala Chicken Curry with Chili

  1. Indu,pureed veggies!! no wonder ur parents did not sample it:)But I have followed GM diet (certified by GM or not that part is yet to be proved)it worked and I lost 8 lbs.Chicken looks adipoli.As usual you are making me hungry in the morning.Can’t help but smile when I see the dish on the matrimony page:)))

    Like

  2. This looks heavenly and I don’t know how you could eat pureed veggies, you go girl…..and I hear you about going nuts with a diet and binging in with this yummy chicken. I’ve been there done that and weight managment is an ongoing struggle..Loving the recipe..

    Like

  3. Chicken curry looks awesome….we keep trying different versions of chicken curry to not get bored of having the same thing again and again…will try this version soon…Appol GM diet eshinnilla alle? was thinking of going for it, but now that u say.. I might reconsider…Why should I starve if I don’t get the goal…instead eat and be happy 😀

    Like

  4. This curry looks so good it got me dragging here to your lovely space!!love it.esp the pics.FYI i just read pureed food diet aka baby food diet is dangerous for the health.

    Like

  5. No one tires of chicken…so much more to try from here!Hope you’re good. I’m in Mumbai now for our next posting. Away from blogging for the time being.

    Like

  6. I am a huge non veg fan…tried this recipe and it came out really good. Looking forward to more such delicious recipes…

    Like

Leave a comment