Baking · Bread · chilli · cream · cumin seed · fresh cream · garlic · Indian · kasuri methi · lemon · lemon juice · main course · medium · onion · ovo vegetarian · Paneer · pepper · salt · spinach · tomato · Uncategorized · Vegetarian · water

Palak Paneer and Kulcha

My first and only previous attempt at making palak paneer was, how shall I put it, a fiasco? Yes, that would be the right word to describe it. All I knew about palak paneer was that it was essentially pureed palak or spinach and paneer or Indian cottage cheese cooked together; I had paneer and spinach in my fridge, hence the decision to make palak paneer. That a recipe was missing, and that I did not know what other ingredients went in, did not bother me; I ploughed on bravely, boiling and pureeing, sautéing and stirring and essentially throwing in whatever came to hand.

At the dining table (or rather, a cardboard box that served as a dining table – we were just getting started), the husband sampled the green curry with his usual (and sometimes over) enthusiasm towards food. Having tasted it earlier, I knew it was not great, and had warned him so. Nevertheless, I hoped he would vehemently disagree with me and declare it the best paneer he had ever eaten. OK, maybe I am exaggerating a bit (I do enjoy a touch of drama), but I did hope he would at least say it was passable or not as bad as I thought it was. This is what he said, “You know Indu, it just isn’t possible to make paneer curry at home the way they do in restaurants. It is not your fault.” Ouch! Though his words were meant to console, they left me wondering why he could not have eaten his meal in silence, or why he could not have talked about happier things like the weather, and whether it was only him or had the cosmos destined all men to be tactless.

A couple of years had gone by since that fateful day (what did I tell you about my inclination towards drama?) and I decided it was time for one more attempt at palak paneer. I wanted to make sure it was good, so this time, I browsed through many recipes online, and realized that this was a very mildly spiced curry with the flavours coming from the spinach and paneer and the tiniest bit of spices; whatever it was, it definitely did not need that heaped tablespoonful of garam masala that I had added earlier.

This is how I made it this time:

You will need:

  • Servings: 2-serving
  • Difficulty: medium
  • Print

My first and only previous attempt at making palak paneer was, how shall I put it, a fiasco? Yes, that would be the right word to describe it. All I knew about palak paneer was that it was essentially pureed palak or spinach and paneer or Indian cottage cheese cooked together; I had paneer and spin

Summary

  • Cuisine: indian
  • Course: main course
  • Cooking Time: 30 mins

Ingredients

200 grams Paneer (Indian cottage cheese)
3 large bunches fresh spinach   300 grams
1 teaspoon crushed garlic
1 large onion , minced (about 1/2 cup onion paste)
1 small tomato , minced (about 1/4 cup tomato paste)
3 green chilies , slit lengthwise (or adjust according to tolerance)
1 teaspoon cumin seeds
1 teaspoon lemon juice
1/2 teaspoon kasuri methi (dried fenugreek leaves)
3/4 cup water
4 tablespoons fresh cream (optional, I couldn’t resist)
4 tablespoons oil (any refined cooking oil)
To taste, salt
As required , Water

Steps

  1. Dice paneer into one 1cm x 1cm x 1cm pieces. Heat a teaspoon of oil in a non stick frying pan and fry the paneer to a golden brown colour.
  2. Wash spinach thoroughly in running water until no dirt remains on the leaves. Blanch the leaves in salted boiling water for a couple of minutes. Transfer the leaves immediately to a bowl of chilled water. This prevents the spinach from being cooked further and helps retain the vibrant green colour of the leaves. Drain the water, squeeze out excess water and grind the spinach into a smooth paste.
  3. Add remaining oil into the frying pan and add cumin seeds. Fry for a few seconds and pour in the minced onion. Fry till the colour of the onion turns to a golden brown. Toss in the chopped ginger, garlic, green chilies and kasuri methi. Saute till fragrant and add the minced tomato. Stir for a few more seconds, then add pureed spinach and water. Mix well, and adjust seasoning. When the gravy comes to boil, add the fried paneer and lemon juice and mix together. Cook for a minute more, and finally add fresh cream.

Kulcha


indugetscooking.cucumbertown.com

12 thoughts on “Palak Paneer and Kulcha

  1. Oh my…this is a fantastic combi!!! The kulchas looks perfect like they are cooked in the tandoor…Well done!!Prathima RaoPrats Corner

    Like

  2. Palak Paneer and Kulcha look very tempting… Pictures are very beautiful……I want to try this even though your mum doesn’t like palak….

    Like

  3. Haha…I couldn’t stop the smiles after reading your dramatic post 😉 Quite entertaining — keep them coming!I haven’t tried palak paneer at home, thought this’s one of my hubby’s and son’s favorite choice at restaurants. Since you’ve done the research, I’ll come back here to make it 🙂

    Like

  4. Greetings. This is my first time on your blog, but you have a terrific one. I am always on the look out for new blogs, new ideas. I especially appreciate all the details you do, so many photos makes it seem like anyone can replicate the recipe!I am asking, would you please consider posting a few of your favorite recipes on erecipecards.comhttp://erecipecards.com/It is a tool for bloggers to see and to be seen. Your posts would fit in perfectly.in addition, all photos, recipe titles as well as your blog name would link directly back to your blog. Thus giving you new attention and potentially new readers.Or, if you just want to take a look at a lot of fellow food bloggers all in one place. A great learning experience to get ideas about how to establish your own blogging voice!Please take a look. If you have any ideas or questions, please do not hesitate to writeDavehttp://erecipecards.com/Contact@eRecipeCards.com

    Like

  5. Lol, yes!! In restaurants abroad, they DO NOT lightly fry the paneer which makes me mad. I so love this dish but never order it. I will try this at home. I’m from Madras, lived in the UK and am now in New Zealand. It is so difficult to find a good Indian restaurant, although I do cook a lot of authentic Indian food at home. Will definitely try your recipes, especially the Keralite ones.

    Like

Leave a comment