american · Bread · capsicum · cooking oil · easy · garlic · green chilli · onion · Paneer · red chili · salt · sauce · Snack · soy sauce · soya · spring onion · sugar · sunflower oil · sweetener · tomato · tomato sauce · Uncategorized · vinegar · water · white bread

Paneer Bread Rolls

June 1st. This is the day that most schools reopen in Kerala. It is also when the monsoons are supposed to hit the state as if determined to muddy the shiny new uniforms and bags as soon as possible.

It was my first day at my new school in Kerala (I studied in Oman till class VII) and I was ecstatic about the downpour after class. Not only because the monsoon was a new experience for me but also because I could try out my first ever umbrella without being the_ alpan_ who literally showed off her umbrella when there was no need for it. (It was a big red one with silver lining inside that was supposed to filter out UV rays on sunny days; I think it was called an A/C umbrella.) I enjoyed turning it round and round as I walked home, watching the drops of water that refused to stick to the surface fly off. I was amused by the streams of water that played around my feet least bothered about everything they brought along with them. I “accidentally” stepped into several puddles, squealed when a passing car splashed water over me, moved my umbrella away and looked to the heavens to feel the rain on my face. It was pure bliss.

I always enjoyed the rain, even after the novelty wore off. While several of my friends took refuge in the nearby shops after school, sip-ups and Frooty in hand, I preferred walking home. After a warm bath and change of clothes, I would sit down to the delicious snacks my mom had prepared for me. And let me tell you, nothing is as much fun as eating good food with your family around you, the pitter patter of rain on your roof and happiness in your heart.

Since all 2 minute snacks seem to be out of picture for the time being, it is useful to have a few kid friendly recipes in hand. Such as the recipe for these bread rolls with paneer. Your kids will love it after a long day at school, and it is the kind that will make them say, “My mummy is the best cook in the who-o-o-le world”.

  • Servings: 10-serving
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

June 1st. This is the day that most schools reopen in Kerala. It is also when the monsoons are supposed to hit the state as if determined to muddy the shiny new uniforms and bags as soon as possible. It was my first day at my new school in Kerala (I studied in Oman till class VII) and I was ecstatic

Summary

  • Cuisine: american
  • Course: snack
  • Cooking Time: 30 mins

Ingredients

10 White bread slices ,
1 cup Water ,
Sunflower oil , to deep fry
Filling
2 tablespoons Sunflower oil ,
2 tablespoons Chopped spring onion greens ,
1.5 tablespoons Chopped garlic ,
1 Chopped green chili ,
1/4 cup Chopped onion ,
1 tablespoon Red chili sauce ,
1.5 tablespoons Tomato sauce ,
2 teaspoons Soy sauce ,
250 grams bits   of paneer ,
1/4 cup Chopped capsicum ,
1/2 teaspoon Vinegar ,
pinch Sugar , a
to taste Salt ,
To Serve
// Tomato sauceSriracha sauceChutney

Steps

  1. Prepare filling.
  2. Heat 2 tablespoons oil in a non stick pan.
  3. Saute spring onions greens and garlic over low heat till fragrant.
  4. Add green chili and saute for a few more seconds.
  5. Toss in onion and saute till translucent.
  6. Mix in red chili sauce, tomato sauce and soy sauce.
  7. Add paneer, capsicum and mix well. Add vinegar and sprinkle over sugar. Adjust seasoning.
  8. Stir the mixture over heat till almost dry. Set aside to cool for a few minutes.
  9. To make roll.
  10. Cut off the thick edges of bread slices. Dip the bread into water for hardly a second just so it is slightly moistened. Making the bread moist enables to shape it into a roll, but if it absorbs too much water, the slice will tear. Carefully press the water out of the slice taking care to retain it’s shape without tearing it.
  11. Holding the slice in your hand (don’t transfer it around too much, else it may tear), put one and a quarter tablespoon of the filling onto the centre of the slice. (The amount of filling would depend on the size of the bread slice. You should be able to enclose the filling without tearing the bread.)
  12. Bring the edges together to enclose the filling and shape into a roll. Keep aside, and repeat till all the bread is used up.
  13. Heat oil in a wok to deep fry the rolls. When the oil is hot, drop in the rolls one by one and fry over medium heat till golden brown. You may need to fry in batches. Remove with slotted spoon and drain excess oil on kitchen paper.
  14. Serve hot with tomato ketchup.
  15. The filling isn’t spicy since I wanted to keep it kid friendly. Adults, the rolls taste great with sriracha sauce.

Check out the recipe for home made paneer here.

Enjoy!

10 thoughts on “Paneer Bread Rolls

  1. Indu… remember when we walked home together to n from college in the rain….in first year.. 😀 used to be fully drenched by time we reached

    Like

  2. I too loved to walk in the rain with umbrella on those days. Those were some blissful moments. The paneer bread roll looks super awesome and it will be perfect for the rain we have now.

    Like

Leave a comment